Thursday, January 19, 2012

Sleep Schmeep

Sleep is becoming a luxury for me.  I am one of those people that need their sleep!!!  I know everyone does, but there's always those people that don't need 8 hours just to function or regardless of how little sleep they have they still look fab and are smiling.  Gosh I hate those people!

Yesterday after work I picked up Michael at the lesbian bar - he wanted a drink and his boss dropped him off at the nearest bar, so it was that or the strip club, but after walking in and seeing 2 hot ladies making out and Michael's jaw sitting on the bar it was apparent that he was pretty happy there - anyway, I pried Michael off the bar then we drove to pick-up M at my Grandma's house where she spent the day. After picking up M's toys at Grandma's and picking up a pizza on the way home I was ready to watch my show (Modern Family) and hit the hay. 

Well, that didn't happen!!  We did get home and I laid M down for a couple of hours since Gma always wears her out.  I was able to eat some pizza and watch my show in peace.  Then M woke up, so we played with her and fed her dinner too.  Then Michael decided he was going to go take a long hot bath!!  Um,  yeah that's no fair!!  I rarely get to do that and if I do I feel guilty as M is pounding at the door so she can come in, the guilt really sets in so I let all my hot, bubbly water out and get out of the tub!! UGH!!! 

Anyway, as I am playing with M who is still a little fussy and not much fun to hang out with at this point.  Michael is MIA. We go find him and  yeah he is asleep in bed!!!  I am the one that's TIRED!!!!  (Michael is usually not an ass like this. He was exceptionally tired.)



So I decide to lay Maizy down, but she won't have it.  She is screaming!  Yelling!  Crying!  She wants to play and I feel guilty.  So I take her out of her crib and bring her into our room and decide I am going to go to sleep like Michael.  He is snoring at this point.

Oh my long drawn out story and here is the Mediocre of a Mommy part if you hadn't thought I was already. M is in the dark playing in our room.  She is having a blast!!  There was enough light coming through the window so she could see her way around  - no worries, you worry warts out there!  She was having a blast playing on the mounds of clean laundry waiting to be put away, she had fun looking through my magazines and books on my nightstand,  she would eventually make a noise or screech in joy and wake Michael up.  Then he'd lie back down,  well when M decided to come climb on Michael and bounce on him, he was up!!  He was the bad guy this time and put Maizy back in her crib!  Mission accomplished!!!!  His sleep got interrupted and now I could go to sleep too!!! 

Michael works manual labor when he does work and I know that makes for a long day, he's sore and tired but he doesn't work every day.  I do!!  I know he thinks I just sit at a desk all day but it's a lot more than that.  I don't get to nap during the day if I'm tired.  I worry and stress about work, home, money, M and all the things mom's worry about on top of all my work deadlines and the awesome office politics (insert sarcasm) that are offered with an office job. Plus I have to have clean hair and get in decent looking clothes and semi matching shoes, smile and interact with my co-workers.  My brain is fried!!

This morning as Michael was doing the count down "You have 30 minutes!"  "You have 20 minutes!" He sat on the bed and had the audacity to tell me that I would feel better if I woke up and exercised! (Michael is usually not an ass like this.  His timing for this conversation couldn't have been worse.) Um, yeah, that takes energy and I have none of that!!  I would LOVE to, but that is the furthest thing from my super tired brain!!

I am considering going to take a nap in my car on my lunch break.  One of M's super soft blankies is in there!  Hhhhmmmmm!!!

Oh and I have no advice for you mommies out there on sleep deprivation.  I'll just leave you with what my mother told me "No worries.  You'll only be tired until they're about 5."  Oh cool. Great.  Thanks!

No comments:

Post a Comment