Just because I am a mom and a mediocre one at that you shouldn't be too surprised that it's the end of a long day at work, a stressful doctor's appointment and I am ready for a beer!!! Or two or five!!!
Cheers!!
Mediocre of a Mommy
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Summer
I love summer!! Especially as a mom there are some many things to do in the summer to keep the kiddos and family busy. There are also many things that are bittersweet.
Like............
................summer time messes in the house because all you want to do is be outside.
................dirt under the kiddos fingernails even after you wash their hands - 100 times.
................planting a garden and watching it grow! Can't wait until we get to eat it all!
................constant mopping and vaccumming of the floors.
................stinky little kids feet!!
.................putting both kids in the tub together - double the fun and wet floor!
.................losing track of time and feeling careless.
..................bedtime is out the window. We play until we drop!
..................sno cones! Mine with vodka!
...................sunsets!
...................watching my kids play outside together and smiling non-stop.
...................BBQ's! The smell, the taste, the ease, I love it all!!
...................working up a sweat outside and going into the cool house!
..................camping!
...................drive-in movies!
...................Farmers Market's.
..................my kids dirty hands, faces and feet!
Yay for summer!
Like............
................summer time messes in the house because all you want to do is be outside.
................dirt under the kiddos fingernails even after you wash their hands - 100 times.
................planting a garden and watching it grow! Can't wait until we get to eat it all!
................constant mopping and vaccumming of the floors.
................stinky little kids feet!!
.................putting both kids in the tub together - double the fun and wet floor!
.................losing track of time and feeling careless.
..................bedtime is out the window. We play until we drop!
..................sno cones! Mine with vodka!
...................sunsets!
...................watching my kids play outside together and smiling non-stop.
...................BBQ's! The smell, the taste, the ease, I love it all!!
...................working up a sweat outside and going into the cool house!
..................camping!
...................drive-in movies!
...................Farmers Market's.
..................my kids dirty hands, faces and feet!
Yay for summer!
Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Big UPDATE!!
Well I did go ahead with getting my IUD removed and we were able to conceive 2 months later. The reason it probably wasn't sooner is we were scared! Ha! I know we are really lucky to be able to get pregnant so easy. My heart goes out to those that struggle, so please don't ever think that I don't know how lucky we are.
Well I found out on December 6th with a home pregnancy test that we were for sure going to have a new family member. I knew I was pregnant before I took the test. Anyway, I have never been SO sick in my life. This pregnancy was WAY different than my first. I was sick all the time, tired, grouchy, tired, sick and just really tired. I was convinced though that it was another girl.
Nope we were having a boy! I remember the ultrasound and the tech telling us it was a boy. I was in shock! I'll fully admit, but please never let my son know.................... I was sad. i just had it in my head it was another girl. I already had everything for this baby.
I got over the sadness pretty fast and came to terms it was a boy until people reminded me! Ha!
The great thing about this pregnancy was my son was a mover and a shaker. M was stealth which at times was scary. Very scary. I was in better blood pressure health with this pregnancy, but I still had the frequent non-stress tests and ultrasounds which are by far my fave thing while pregnant. I was told that my son would be big. Like 70th percentile big. M was 2nd or 5th percentile on a good day.
The due date was M's birthday. Yikes! I knew that ultimately wouldn't be the case, but it still was cool to think and talk about.
I tried to eat good while being pregnant, but I craved coke! Yes, coke. I drank it way too much and ice cream. Yep, moose tracks Private Selection ice cream. I was not going to argue with what my baby needed or wanted, so I obliged.
My due date got bumped up from August 14th to August 2nd to July 26th and thankfully so. I was told baby boy was big. One doctor even said he would be at least 7 pounds. Um, he was 8 pounds and 7 ounces people. Yep! He was huge. The labor was not painful and was actually quite enjoyable this time since I didn't need to have magnesium - that shit is the worst!!
Anyway, when they placed him on my chest I was in awe. I was in love! He was perfect. He had lots of hair and was just, well, perfect.
Giving birth makes you feel like anything but a mediocre of a mommy!
Well I found out on December 6th with a home pregnancy test that we were for sure going to have a new family member. I knew I was pregnant before I took the test. Anyway, I have never been SO sick in my life. This pregnancy was WAY different than my first. I was sick all the time, tired, grouchy, tired, sick and just really tired. I was convinced though that it was another girl.
Nope we were having a boy! I remember the ultrasound and the tech telling us it was a boy. I was in shock! I'll fully admit, but please never let my son know.................... I was sad. i just had it in my head it was another girl. I already had everything for this baby.
I got over the sadness pretty fast and came to terms it was a boy until people reminded me! Ha!
The great thing about this pregnancy was my son was a mover and a shaker. M was stealth which at times was scary. Very scary. I was in better blood pressure health with this pregnancy, but I still had the frequent non-stress tests and ultrasounds which are by far my fave thing while pregnant. I was told that my son would be big. Like 70th percentile big. M was 2nd or 5th percentile on a good day.
The due date was M's birthday. Yikes! I knew that ultimately wouldn't be the case, but it still was cool to think and talk about.
I tried to eat good while being pregnant, but I craved coke! Yes, coke. I drank it way too much and ice cream. Yep, moose tracks Private Selection ice cream. I was not going to argue with what my baby needed or wanted, so I obliged.
My due date got bumped up from August 14th to August 2nd to July 26th and thankfully so. I was told baby boy was big. One doctor even said he would be at least 7 pounds. Um, he was 8 pounds and 7 ounces people. Yep! He was huge. The labor was not painful and was actually quite enjoyable this time since I didn't need to have magnesium - that shit is the worst!!
Anyway, when they placed him on my chest I was in awe. I was in love! He was perfect. He had lots of hair and was just, well, perfect.
Giving birth makes you feel like anything but a mediocre of a mommy!
Monday, August 27, 2012
What to do? What to do?
Kids. Kids. Kids. They are everywhere. Now that I am a mom I definitely admire, adore and respect kids more than I ever have in my life. I just feel bad that kids I knew before now didn't stand a chance with me. I knew that when I had kids of my own it would be completely different and I would love them to the ends of the earth and back and that couldn't be more true. I have adored some of my cousins and some of my friends kids but not all mind you.
I guess I still have this crazy fucked up mentality. For example, when my daughter was born. Actually rewind that, before my daughter was born she had my heart and now she really has it and my heart is walking outside my body. That is crazy shit! I love my daughter SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much that she brings tears to my eyes on a daily basis and then when I am drinking it's even worse! I love that kid. She held my heart in her little hand the minute she was born and placed in my arms for the first time. But see this all makes sense to me because she was and still is a bad ass! She is beautiful, perfect, funny, smart, kind, loving, passionate, caring and is just such a bad ass, it's no wonder that I am crazy about her as well as her father, two grandma's, two grandpa's her aunt, the cashiers at the grocery store and her pediatrician.
Ok so now we have it covered that I don't like all kids, mine is a bad ass and now do I have another? I am so torn. Women pop out babies like it's "no thang!" Do they not worry about money? If they can mentally or physically handle another child? Money? College? Money? How it will affect the other child(ren)? Money?
Having one child was a huge accident decision in itself, so to think to have more is an even bigger accident decision. I have some how convinced myself to bite the bullet and have another child even though no one can give me an legitimate reason as to why to have more than one child other than "they will be lonely if their father and I are in a freak accident and both die at the exact same time!!" Um, there are 7 billion people in this world I doubt they will ever be lonely. "They will have a playmate!" Um, sometimes the last person in the world you want to play or share secrets with is your stinky, sweaty brother or fat snitch-bitch of a sister - for the record I have neither - my sister is skinny, but statistically speaking.
I have decided to have another child for nothing but selfish reason's only. My mom had two kids. I want two kids. I want to have another person out there besides myself and my daughter that thinks I am the bees knees.
I get my IUD removed September 11th. Wish me luck!
Sincerely,
Mediocre of a Mommy.
Wednesday, August 15, 2012
Clean House
It's come to my attention that those that have super clean homes obviously neglect their children.
It's a fact.
Monday, April 30, 2012
M&M's
My daughter is a relatively healthy eater. She LOVES fruits and veggies and she eats pretty much whatever we eat for dinner. Sometimes I feel like I should do a better job with her meals as far as being kid friendly as such, but then I am proud of us, as parents, exposing her to all kinds of foods. Then it's also great that I don't have to stress when we do go out to eat. The Grandma's always freak out and want to make sure we go to a kid-friendly place - worst! First of all M is so excited to be out and about that she could care less about eating and second, that girl will eat shrimp, fish, steak and chicken, so we can eat anywhere.
Ok, sorry, I got off track. Anyway, my daughter woke up Sunday morning and the first thing out of her mouth was "M, M's" That's right she wanted M&M's. Poor little girl must have been dreaming about them all night. So we went downstairs and I gave her a few M&M's while I made breakfast. Was this the right thins to feed my child first thing in the morning? No, of course not, but she was happily entertained while I cooked a pretty healthy breakfast of french toast, sugar free syrup and fresh berries.
I always remember to pick my battles. I love seeing my daughter smile - which she pretty much does 24/7 anyway and that makes me feel like a pretty good mom right there.
Wednesday, April 25, 2012
This and That
I was super excited to become a mom and had no expectations. The no expectations worked to my advantage I believe. I mean all I heard was negative stuff from other moms, lame moms. "Oh you're going to be SO tired!" "You're never going to get to do what you want anymore!" "I hope you like stinking.- consider yourself lucky if you get to shower!" And so on and so. Lame! So when I was a new mom I felt like everything was great and it really was. I was always tired so that wasn't a big deal and actually I got more sleep then, then I do now. I still do exactly what I want and now I have a little buddy to go with me. To be honest I don't mind not showering on the weekends, so that was no big deal there. Plus why would you shower if you know you're going to continuously have spit up, boogies and food on you!?!
When I get a chance to meet with a friend and she is a mom or a new mom at that. I despise discussing mothering techniques and our children. First of all, no other mother is honest with the way they do things. You can't tell me that your children go to bed at the same time every night with no fussing, they eat all organic and no sugar and you took the bottle away right at age one. Plus no kid kicks ass as much as my daughter so let's not even go there! Save it.
I just go with the flow. I have learned to read M's body language and now that she is talking more and more, it's getting much easier to find out what she needs and when she needs it or if she needs it. We don't need to buy every ball we see at every store!
Anyway, M is getting more and more fun. I can't get enough of her, seriously. She is the coolest and best thing on this planet. I know it's good and healthy to have time away from each other, but I miss her a shit ton when we are apart.
I have a few time saving tips for working moms, so that you can spend more time with your child. I apologize if they seem obvious - I'm still kind of new at this mommy thing.
I have to admit I was never a kid person and I'm still not. I'm just an admirer of my child and if I have more in the future I am sure I will like them too.
I was never really around kids growing up. My sis is five years younger than me so we didn't hang too much and I REFUSED to babysit. My neighbors would beg and my mom would make me babysit, but it was known that at age 13 I had officially retired from babysitting.
I also was never a baby person. I never rushed to hold a baby and if I asked if I wanted to hold one I would say "no" without any hesitation.
Anyway, with all this information you may think I don't even sound like I could meet the standards of even a mediocre mother. I guess M will be the judge of that.
When I get a chance to meet with a friend and she is a mom or a new mom at that. I despise discussing mothering techniques and our children. First of all, no other mother is honest with the way they do things. You can't tell me that your children go to bed at the same time every night with no fussing, they eat all organic and no sugar and you took the bottle away right at age one. Plus no kid kicks ass as much as my daughter so let's not even go there! Save it.
I just go with the flow. I have learned to read M's body language and now that she is talking more and more, it's getting much easier to find out what she needs and when she needs it or if she needs it. We don't need to buy every ball we see at every store!
Anyway, M is getting more and more fun. I can't get enough of her, seriously. She is the coolest and best thing on this planet. I know it's good and healthy to have time away from each other, but I miss her a shit ton when we are apart.
I have a few time saving tips for working moms, so that you can spend more time with your child. I apologize if they seem obvious - I'm still kind of new at this mommy thing.
- Go grocery shopping on your lunch break. then I put all my refrigerated items in the breakroom fridge. Note to self: Don't forget food in fridge.
- Anything I can prepare for dinner ahead of time I do in the morning before work - chopping, slicing, sauce - you know, things like that. This saves time on dinner prep and makes more time to play.
- I take my baths and showers after M is in bed or napping. She freaks out if she is not in the bathroom with me.
- Or sometimes M and I will bathe together.
- Everytime M gets home from being with g-ma I repack her bag so it's always ready to go, it takes 5 minutes and it's worth the time to do that.
- I have discovered freeze dried fruit packs for on the go. She still gets the fruit she likes - the strawberries and bananas are delish - and I don't have to slice and package them up. Grab and Go!
- I have M help me clean her room, it's fun for her to put her toys where they go and same with her clothes, it helps - most of the time.
- Don't let them watch t.v. all day because when you really need to get something done, it grabs their attention. M watches maybe a half hour a day in the evening when I need to get some chores done.
- Make your child eat what you are eating for dinner or at least try it M eats a HUGE variety of food - even shrimp and fish. It makes like so much easier.
- When going to a restaurant I let M sit at the table with us now that she is older until the food arrives. Just let them color or play with the knives. Im' kidding, I'm kidding. Then I put her in her high chair to eat or else it's way too much time in those blessed, germ infested restaurant high chairs and then you and your partner will have to eat in shifts.
- Stop what you are doing and play with your kids.
I have to admit I was never a kid person and I'm still not. I'm just an admirer of my child and if I have more in the future I am sure I will like them too.
I was never really around kids growing up. My sis is five years younger than me so we didn't hang too much and I REFUSED to babysit. My neighbors would beg and my mom would make me babysit, but it was known that at age 13 I had officially retired from babysitting.
I also was never a baby person. I never rushed to hold a baby and if I asked if I wanted to hold one I would say "no" without any hesitation.
Anyway, with all this information you may think I don't even sound like I could meet the standards of even a mediocre mother. I guess M will be the judge of that.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
